How To Delete Messages On Mac Without Deleting From iPhone?

Apple’s message syncing system is a good call, so you can pick up an unfinished conversation from both devices anytime. But the trouble begins as your Mac gets filled with huge message chains. Attached messages might also start to clog up your storage.

In such a case, you might want to delete your messages. But there is a pretty clear warning that it will delete it from all devices, including your iPhone. In such a case, how to delete messages on Mac without deleting from iPhone?

To avoid such an occurrence, you can follow some steps before deleting the messages. Let’s discover more about it!

Does Deleting Messages On Mac Delete From iPhone?

Apple’s synchronization system syncs messages on devices connected to the same iCloud. But, if your Mac is not synced with your iPhone, deleting messages from it won’t delete those from your iPhone.

Messages on iCloud iphone

If you want to keep the messages on both devices, you have to enable “Messages on iCloud” on both. Doing so will let both of your Apple devices keep the messages.

Messages on iCloud mac

How To Remove Messages From Mac But Not iPhone?

When your cloud is linked to both your Mac and iPhone, if you delete messages from any of the devices, they will be automatically deleted on the other one, too. So, in such a situation, you need to follow some specific steps beforehand.

1. Disable iCloud On Your Mac

When your Mac’s messaging is linked to your iCloud, launch the Messages app first. Then follow these steps:

  • Tap “Messages” in the menu bar after opening the app.
  • Select “Preferences” from the drop-down.
Tap Messages and Select Preferences
  • Find the “iMessage” tab in this window.
find message and Enable Messages in iCloud
  • Check the “Enable Messages in iCloud” area to disable synchronization.

2. Return To Your Messages App

Now that you have disabled iCloud, return to the messages app. Ensure that you are logged in with the Apple ID associated with your iPhone.

3. Find Your Conversation

Select the conversation with the messages to delete. This starts the conversation with individual messages. You can also delete multiple conversations at once.

Find Your Conversation to delete

If you are wondering how to delete all messages on MacBook, press and hold the “Command” key on your keyboard. While holding it down, click and drag to delete several messages or all messages at once.

4. Delete The Messages

Now that you have selected the unwanted messages right-click to open a context menu with options. From the context menu, select “Delete“. It will ask for further confirmation and choose “Delete” to continue.

At this point, if you want to know how to delete messages on MacBook Air, you can follow the same process.

How To Automatically Delete Messages On Mac?

If you don’t want to bother yourself with manually deleting the messages, you can choose automatic deletion after a certain period on your Mac. However, before proceeding, make sure that your messages’ iCloud synchronization is disabled. Otherwise, this will delete the synced messages too.

  • Step 1: First, launch the messages app on your Mac and navigate to “Messages.”
  • Step 2: In “Messages,” select “Preferences” from the options. You can adjust your messaging settings in this window.
Tap Messages and Select Preferences
  • Step 3: Find the “General” tab in Preferences.
find Keep Messages drop-down box
  • Step 4: Under the General tab, find the “Keep Messages” drop-down box. Click on it to reveal the available options.
  • Step 5: Now you will find “30 Days,” “One Year,” or “Forever” options to choose from. Typically, it’s set on the “Forever” option.
Keep Messages options
  • Step 6: Change the setting according to your preference of how often you want your device to automatically delete the conversations. 

How To Delete Messages On Macbook From iPhone?

If you want to delete your Mac’s messages from your iPhone, here, too, you can use the iCloud feature. But doing this will delete messages from both your devices, so be careful!

The first step is to enable iCloud on both your devices. To do so, make sure your iPhone and Mac are sharing the same wireless network. Then, on your iPhone, follow these steps:

  • Navigate to the “Settings” menu.
  • In the top right, click your Apple ID.
  • Go ahead and click “iCloud.”
  • Flip the switch labeled “Sync this phone” on to activate iCloud Messages.
Sync this phone on to activate iCloud Messages

Now take your Macbook and follow these steps:

  • Go to “Messages” in the menu bar
  • Choose “Preferences”
  • Click on the “Accounts” tab.
  • Use your Apple ID to sign in.
  • Then go back to the “Messages Preferences” and click the box labeled “Enable Messages in iCloud.”
Messages on iCloud mac

Now, wait for a while since both devices will require some time to sync. Once the synchronization is done, both devices will share the same inbox for your conversations. Thus, you can delete any messages from your iPhone, and they will be deleted from your Mac at the same time.

Having trouble with iMessages not syncing on your Mac? Check out our comprehensive guide on how to manage and troubleshoot iMessage synchronization to ensure a seamless messaging experience across all your Apple devices.

FAQs

How Do I Disconnect My iPhone Messages From My Mac?

To disconnect iPhone messages from Mac, open messages, click Preferences, go to iMessage, and sign out. To disable alerts, go to System Preferences and from there to Notifications & Focus > Messages.

Can I Download My Messages From iCloud?

If your messages are saved on iCloud, you can download them anytime. Thus, you need to log in to iCloud using that Apple ID and sync with iCloud or restore an iCloud message backup to access your old texts.

Does Deleting Messages On Mac Delete From iCloud?

When you delete a message on your Mac, it won’t disappear from iCloud right away; instead, it will be relocated to the Recently Deleted folder and deleted completely after 30 days.

Wrapping Up

Knowing how to delete messages on a Mac without deleting from iPhone can prevent many unwanted situations when you are running low on storage on your Mac and make an impulsive decision. Thus, remember to sync the devices again once the task is done so you can sync further messages.

About The Author

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

three × five =

Scroll to Top